• Alpha Gamma Rho

    Kappa Alpha Theta & Alpha Kappa Lambda

    Capture 1st Place in Homecoming, 2013






















    2013 AGR National Awards


    The following awards were giving to Theta Chapter by the AGR National Fraternity:


    Promise and Values – Highest Honors

    Website Design – Highest Honors

    Chapter Crescent – Best Single Issue, Fall 2012 – High Honor

    Alumni Relations – Honorable Mention




  • 2013 Memorial Golf Tournament


    “Out came the sun and dried up all the rain, and…” the second annual Popp/McBee  

    Memorial Golf Tournament got underway after a brief 15 minute rain delay. Ninety‚Äźfour collegiate members, alumni, family and friends participated in the September 8 event at Lake of the Woods Golf Course in Columbia. Thanks to the participants and sponsors, we were able to add $5,000 to the scholarship fund. The fund was established in memory of two past members, Jacob Popp and Justin McBee, who exemplified the fraternity's values of character, integrity, leadership, and scholarship.  Theta Chapter awards a $1,000 scholarship each year to a deserving freshman enrolled at Mizzou. This year’s tournament winners were:


    3rd Place 
    Brice Babbs, Brendon Babbs, Brian Babbs, Jake Kirtley


    2nd Place
    Ben Werr, Taylor Hutson, Christian Gander, Alex O’Laughlin


    1st Place Austin Thiel, Thomas Stillman, Rob Gorrell, Justin Lynn


    Zach Knipp won the raffle and took home a new golf bag donated by the collegiate chapter. A big thank you for the success of the tournament goes to Cory Gregg and Shannon Weber for organizing the tournament; Ryan Milhollin for publicizing the event on our website; and Ben Werr, the undergraduate coordinator.


    A special thanks to our sponsors:


    AGR Theta Undergraduate Chapter 

    Alpha Gamma Rho Theta Building Assn. 

    Apex Financial, LLC 

    Channel Seed Company 

    Curtis and Kyle Fischer 

    David Minnick 

    Dick's Sporting Goods 

    Edward Jones (Matt Peiter, Joe Eddy, Curtis Long, Jr., John Pfaff, Jim Bonderer) 

    Fechtel Beverage 

    Flynn Insurance 

    Friends of the Fraternity 

    Grand River Insurance (Mel Gregg) 

    Hal K. Fisher, CPA 

    Jimmy’s Family Steakhouse 

    Lemar Farms 

    Leo O’Laughlin, Inc 

    Lewis Hybrids (Michael Manson) 

    Masters Construction 

    MFA, Inc. 

    Missouri Corn Growers Association 

    Producers Hybrids  

    Renaissance Financial (Shannon Weber) 

    The Napier Family 

    The Popp Family 

    The Rackers Family 

    Value Ag  



    House Resolution


    Theta Chapter undergraduates and alumni traveled to Jefferson City on Monday, May 13, 2013 to receive a Resolution from the Missouri House of Representatives.  Representative Joe Don McGaugh (Theta 2002) presented the Resolution on the floor at the opening of Monday’s session of the House.   A portion of the Resolution reads “Whereas Theta Chapter of Alpha Gamma Rho earned two major awards during 2012 including the Maynard Coe Chapter Efficiency on July 31, 2012, at the Alpha Gamma Rho National Convention in Burlington, Vermont, and the Excellence Cup on October 3, 2012, from the University of Missouri-Columbia Greek Life Department.”


    While at the capitol, we were able to visit the office of Senator Brian Munzlinger (Theta 2005) and talk with Representative Caleb Jones (Theta 2010) and Representative McGaugh  prior to the session.   We would be remiss if we didn’t thank Jackie Buschjost (Justin’s mom) for arranging parking for us in the Senate parking garage and giving us a private tour of the capitol dome.  The 300 steps to the top were well worth the climb to see the great view of our State and the Missouri River.


    Thanks to Joe Don and Mark Baker, AGR Building Association President for making this happen and to the alumni who joined us for the celebration.





    Greek Week 2013


    Alpha Gamma Rho (AGR) Theta Chapter
    participated this spring in the University of Missouri Greek Week, which includes a series of competitive events such as sports games, blood drive, fling, and service projects.  These activities provide valuable benefits to various local and national organizations and also promote a positive relationship with the community.    AGR was paired with the wonderful ladies of Alpha Phi.


    One major highlight of this competition was that Breck Babbs was selected as the 2013 Greek Week King.  Breck is a senior at Theta Chapter and will graduate in May with a B.S. in Agribusiness Management.  He has accepted a position with Archer Daniels Midland which will begin in June. 


    Additionally, AGR/Alpha Phi pairing received the 5th place award in the overall competition.  In the breakdown of events, we placed 1st place in service, 1st place in banner competition, 2nd in blood and 3rd place in fling.  It was a great experience and we look forward to these events in the future years.



    Founder's Day 2013


    On Saturday, March 16 the collegiates were joined by over 50 alumni and their guests to celebrate our 97th Founder's Day.  Following the registration and continental breakfast at the house, we adjourned to the Chapter Room to conduct our annual meeting.  New Officers were elected, the 2013-14 budget was approved and reports were giving by the undergraduate chapter and the Building Association.  Our new advisors were introduced.  Joining our current advisor, Alan Masters, is Dr. Michael Monson (Theta, 2003) and Justin Sharpless (Alpha Gamma, 2003).  They are replacing Ryan Milhollin who has chosen to move on to become BA treasurer.  Other BA officers include Mark Baker, president and Curtis Fischer, secretary.  Newly elected board members are Larry Warren and Lowell Newsom.  Our thanks to Joe Eddy who is stepping down after many years as the BA treasurer.


    At noon, we adjourned to the Stotler Lounge at Memorial Union for our Founder's Day Luncheon and program.  Dr. James Spain (Theta, 2003) delivered and entertaining and informative presentation, "Why Mizzou."  This was followed by Chapter awards and scholarships, recognition of the 10 and 25 year brothers, and an auction.


     1988 Initiation Class


     2003 Initiation Class



    2013 Chapter Awards


    Outstanding New Members
    Ben Niendick and Corey Hudson


    Litton Outstanding New Member
    Collin Boyd


    Cecil Keasler Outstanding Junior

    Christopher Hudson


    Cecil Keasler Outstanding Sophomore

    John Davis


    Oscar Thorne Scholarship

    Tanner Greer


    Fall Semester Scholarship
    Jacob Buehler


    Most Improved Grades   

    Dylan Bussell


    Big Brother/Little Brother Scholarship
    John Marshall and Matt Maupin


    Max Glover Leadership Award

    Matt Eisenbath


    Most Active Member

    Christopher Hudson


    Campus Leader

    Matt Eisenbath


    Most Athletic

    Alex O'Laughlin